Frosted Designs Fabulous Friday 10.26

Good morning all! This week our challenge at Frosted Designs is to use Paints, Mists or Inks on a card, layout or off the page project! How fun it that?! I LOVE using spray inks in everything from scrapbooking to mixed media projects.

In honor of this Halloween season, I created these little 8 x 8 canvases featuring these cute little trick or treaters! I used a lot of acrylic paints, spray inks, stencils, masks, and other bits and pieces of Halloween goodness that were lurking in my stash. This was such a fun project to do. I’ve been taking Christy Tomlinson’s Pumpkins and Cider Workshop, which is full of neat fall projects. She is so inspiring to me!!
Here are my canvases:

I call this one my Frankengirl 🙂



And my Pumpkin Spice Girl 🙂



I also created this cute haunted house scene that I featured on my Art Journaling blog, but figured I would share here as well. I think this may be my favorite thing I’ve created so far! I bought this plaster piece at Goodwill and revamped it into a scene for Halloween. I thought it looked kind of looked like a tombstone.



So have fun creating a project using paint and/or spray inks and be sure to link it up at Frosted Designs for the chance to win a super cute Halloween mini album kit from The Paper Trail!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 08:29:42

    I love the canvasses!!! The Frankengirl is soo adorable! I always wondered what the bride of Frankenstein looked like when she was a child, and I think you nailed it!

    Reply

  2. Ashley Horton
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 09:09:25

    These are so awesome Melissa!!! I know I’ve said it before, but you are amazingly talented at Mixed Media!! Really great projects for the FD challenge!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Julie Tucker-Wolek
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 18:20:49

    Ohhhhhhhhhh this is AWESOME!!! I love love love the colors and the textures is perfect!!!!

    Reply

  4. Barb
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 01:04:48

    Oh my word…. these are AMAZING!!! I adore those darling trick or treaters on each canvas!! Everything you make is too cute!!

    barb 🙂

    Reply

  5. Lori Apgar
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 11:01:05

    GORGEOUS!!!! This is not my go-to style but lately I have been drooling over your projects!!!! I may have to cross over to mixed media for a while 🙂

    Reply

  6. erinblegen
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 09:16:03

    Wow, you are a genius when it comes to altered art! I just did a canvas last night but I admit I’m quite amateur when it comes to that stuff. Your work is so inspiring! I love those little girls you created- honestly, I was looking at them and my husband brought my crying daughter to me and when she saw your canvases, she stopped crying, lol! So I guess she liked the little girls too!! 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my blog- it reminded me to stop by yours. I’m really terrible at getting around to blogs lately- I just don’t know where the time goes! But it’s always a treat to come here :).

    Hope you are well and ready for Halloween!! It sure looks like you are ;),

    Take care,

    xErin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

