Mother’s Day Blog Hop!

Good morning everyone and welcome to our Mother’s Day Blog Hop! I hope you will enjoy visiting all of the fantastic blogs and find some great inspiration along the way for your Mother’s Day projects. If you didn’t arrive here from Amanda’s Blog, please go back and visit her to start the hop. Now for my project!

I wanted to do something a little bit different this time instead of a traditional card or layout. I’ve been working a lot in my art journal lately and having the best time creating backgrounds and getting messy with paint, liquid inks,Pan Pastels, gesso, and scraps. And speaking of scraps, I created this piece completely from scraps that I’ve been saving. Recently I reorganized my scrap basket and cut all of the larger pieces down to 6 x 6 and then arranged them all by color. The smaller pieces all got tossed into a gallon sized Ziplock bag to use for projects like this.

And here it is:



I really loved building all of the layers and the colors on this. I used old French book paper, some airplane charts, cross stitch patterns, and scrapbook paper scraps. I found the frame at Hobby Lobby and used my 40% off coupon to buy it. (Love getting a good deal like that!)

And now for the exciting part…you can win this piece to either keep for yourself, or give to your Mom for Mother’s Day! If you would like to win, simply leave me a comment saying that you would like to win. Bonus entry if you become a new follower. And if you enjoyed this project, but don’t win..don’t fret! I am in talks with a local artisan to have it translated into a charm that would look cute on a necklace or bracelet. Hopefully I will have more details on that soon…if you’re interested in ordering one please let me know!

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Your support, encouragement, and kind comments mean so much to me!! Now on to your next stop: Mandi’s Blog

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. auntie em (emily)
    May 04, 2012 @ 06:20:37

    Not sure where you find the time to create and craft with all your little ones but I love this piece of art! You have really inspired me to give this a try.
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kelly Jean
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:02:28

    Melissa that is so gorgeous! I love that! That frame is super cute! I would be interested in a charm if you do one.

    Reply

  3. Cathy Spain
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:32:08

    This is NOT “cute”! ; ) You are an amazing artist.

    Reply

  4. Crystal
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:59:53

    This is stunning! I found a lot inspiration on your blog! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  5. Grammachurch
    May 04, 2012 @ 08:28:36

    I love it! It’s amazing! You are really growing in your craft. I love all the layers and the colors. What an awesome way to use scrap paper. The shape of the frame and the color really bring out the beauty of your work of art.

    Reply

  6. Moongirl
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:24:24

    Oh, Melissa, I just love your art! This is stunning! I love the idea of the charm.

    Reply

  7. Andrea Niemeier
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:24:31

    Wow, that project is amazing! How do you do that?! And to put it into necklace charms, that would be so cool!! Awesome job Melissa!

    Reply

  8. Angela A
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:40:50

    Wow! I am always amazed when people can create a work of art like this! Beautiful!

    Reply

  9. Steffanie S
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:59:52

    This is so gorgeous! I am in awe! I would totally love to win this for my mom. And if you do get the jewelry thing going, I’d be interested in more information. You are so talented, Melissa!

    Reply

  10. Tara
    May 04, 2012 @ 10:53:46

    I’m so into this style of creating lately. Would love to win your piece, its beautiful!!

    Reply

  11. pbsawesome
    May 04, 2012 @ 11:11:58

    This is beautiful! I would love to win it.

    Reply

  12. Caroli
    May 04, 2012 @ 12:59:45

    This is a work of art! Love it ♥

    Reply

  13. Devra
    May 04, 2012 @ 15:12:57

    That is beautiful! You are truly talented.

    Reply

  14. Carolyn Ewy
    May 05, 2012 @ 05:47:31

    A gorgeous piece of artwork!

    Reply

  15. Cassie W
    May 05, 2012 @ 15:57:44

    How very beautiful! Great job!!

    Reply

  16. Mandi
    May 05, 2012 @ 22:48:39

    That is so cute. I love the layers.

    Reply

  17. danamk
    May 06, 2012 @ 08:11:52

    Melissa, that is beautiful! I’m so not artsy but I love looking at your projects that you create doing your art journal. They’re fabulous. Please keep sharing them – I love seeing them!

    Reply

  18. Patrice Plauche (@phpea)
    May 07, 2012 @ 16:56:44

    I {heart} your art journal page!

    Reply

  19. sarosie
    May 10, 2012 @ 15:50:02

    This is stunning Mel – a fantastic artwork!!!

    Reply

  20. Danny
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 14:08:33

    This is a great piece of work. I wish I was creative like you. Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

