Scrap Challenges and the return of my scrapping mojo? :)

Hi everyone! Well, after a scrapping drought I think I finally have been able to get back into scrapping mode over the past weekend. With all of the stress going on with all of the kids, it really is relaxing for me to have time to let myself be creative (even with Weston pooping and eating every hour–or so it seems, and Sophie crawling all over the back of my chair and cutting up scraps of paper and “reorganizing” my brad stash under my feet). So…this post you will be seeing a lot of pics of the kids for spring. Every year my father in law hosts a big Easter party at their ranch and it’s the perfect setting to take spring pics of the kids. This first layout is of all of my “ducks” and it was done based off of a sketch by my friend and talented scrapper, Ashley Horton. She is hosting a Sketch It Out challenge at Club CK every month.

Next up is a layout I did using a sketch from Creative Scrappers. I was going to link it up, but I’m not totally thrilled with how it came out. I may re-work this one later one.

The next layout was done for two challenges. One is for ScrapFit Workout #66, which is to use the color combination of cherry, mint, and sand. I really love how this layout turned out. I also used the sketch this week from Let’s Get Sketchy. I’ve played along a couple of times with them and I really loved this sketch.

OK, last up for this ridiculously long post (sorry), is my layout using a sketch by Diana for her Blogiversary. I had the privilege of designing with Diana at Sketchy Thursdays before they shut down earlier this year. Every now and then she is still putting sketches out there and of course I couldn’t resist.

Well that’s it for layouts for today 🙂 Stay tuned though, I have a few (I think) awesome layouts I’ve done for Frosted Designs that will be coming up in the next few weeks, as well as my card I submitted for Frosted Designs and the Mother’s Day Blog Hop the first weekend of May. Enjoy your day!!!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly Foster
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 14:52:57

    Wonderful layouts, Melissa! You can never have too many spring photos, it’s my favorite season! Glad you to hear you are back in the swing of things, take care.

    Reply

  2. laurie lariviere
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 15:37:51

    all of these are great! glad your mojo is back, love the first one with the family photo, very nice!

    Reply

  3. Wendi R
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 23:47:16

    wonderful page and love the banner work!! great papers for the color challenge!!! thanks sooo much for playing along with ScrapFIT!!!

    Reply

  4. Jennifer Ingle
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 13:39:34

    Very fun layouts! I’m so glad you played along with Diana’s sketch!

    Reply

  5. Tracey ~ GardenOfGrace
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 18:00:50

    Wow, what wonderful LO’s!! Love your style, and the LO for the color challenge at scrapFIT is amazing. Love the papers you selected for this!! Thanks for working out with us at ScrapFIT! ~ Blessings

    http://gracescraps.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  6. Grammachurch
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:58:19

    You have made some yummy layouts here! I love the bright colors of the first one with those super cute rosettes. Nice use of washi tape on the second one! The third one has that awesome banner and I love that unusual color combination. The last one has that great doily in the back with those cute triangle arrows and the beanstalk (ok, I know it’s really a vine but I love how it grows clean off the page!) Thanks for the inspiration…I’m lovin’ it!

    Reply

  7. Laura Whitaker
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:14:13

    wow you have been super creative! great job wit the LGS sketch, and i love that little tulle flower! thanks for playing with us!

    Reply

  8. Martine
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:20:49

    wonderful LOs! you sure hve been busy! love your use of colors! glad you joined us again this week at LGS!

    Reply

  9. beeceecode
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:28:19

    so glad you got your mojo and shared with us..amazing pages…great take on the sketch and thanks for playing along at LGS

    Reply

  10. beeceecode
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:29:32

    really glad you found your mojo.. thanks for sharing these amazing pages…great take on the sketch and thanks for playing along at LGS

    Reply

  11. titiyan
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 13:43:18

    great pages!Love the twine and your made flower!
    Thanks for playing along with at LGS!!

    Reply

  12. Kerys
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 21:11:22

    Great layouts! I love how you used the LGS sketch – great color combo – i love it! Thanks for joining us at LGS 🙂

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Frosted Designs Sketch Along Tuesdays 5.1…and more! « melshappyscrappyplace
  14. photochic-Heather Adams
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 12:00:42

    Cuteness! I love that last layout. I love all the layering on all of these layouts!!!

    Reply

  15. Carolyn
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 12:27:25

    So very cute….love them all! Super neat summer colors and fun elements!

    Reply

  16. Susan O.
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 13:34:31

    Glad your mojo is back! Your layouts are gorgeous and your kids are adorable. I love your style!!

    Reply

  17. Candee (ScrapJAG) Schamber
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 14:02:23

    Glad you got your mojo back! I like the layouts you show here.

    Reply

  18. SandyP
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 15:25:51

    Awesome… glad you got your mojo back. BTW: Fabulous layous!

    Reply

  19. mainly me
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 19:07:07

    Glad to hear your scrapping mojo is back! The layouts shown here are great! Love the colors.

    Reply

  20. ScrappinEweRobyn (Robyn)
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 14:53:59

    Soooo glad to see your back!!! I love your creative Los!

    Reply

  21. Kim E
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 19:25:34

    So glad your mojo has returned Melissa, your LOs are awesome!!

    Reply

  22. Carole B.
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 01:22:49

    Love your LO & glad your mojo is back

    Reply

  23. Mandi
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 12:46:51

    Great pages. Glad you got your mojo back.

    Reply

  24. Laurie Cashen
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 13:19:35

    Really great pages Melissa. It’s so much fun when Mr. Mojo returns!

    Reply

  25. Amanda okanogangirl
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 20:09:41

    Such happy pages! So glad your Mojo is back.

    Reply

  26. Steffanie S
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 13:24:45

    Wow! You really have been on a roll! So glad that your scrappy mojo is back! I love seeing your work! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

