Frosted Designs “Love is in the Air” Blog Hop

Hi everyone and welcome to my blog! Thanks for joining us for Frosted Designs “Love is in the Air” Blog Hop. You should have arrived here from Boys Rule Scrapbook Kits, if you didn’t, please go to Barb’s Blog to start the hop from the beginning.

Here is the blog lineup:
Barb
Debbie
Ann
Joanne
Lydia
Angela
Teresa
Erin R.
Kelly
Erin B
Boys Rule Scrapbook
Melissa
Beverly

The Blog hop starts at midnight Central time Friday and will go until noon Central time Thursday. Make sure to visit all of the blogs in order and write down the special word or phrase from each one. After you have written down all of the phrases, it will spell out a special message. Email this to Diana at danica4us@yahoo.com and complete the challenge to be eligible to win the grand prize from Frosted Designs.

And now for the challenge and my project! We had to create a project featuring the word “LOVE”. My 3 year old daughter and I created this 12 x 12 canvas project to give to her teacher for Valentine’s Day:


I started with a blank 12 x 12 canvas and just squirted on a few shades of pink and red acrylic paint directly onto the canvas. While Sophie had fun using her hands and a foam paintbrush to spread the paint all over, I worked on painting the wooden letters with white acrylic paint. While the canvas was still wet, we used a decorative edger to create some texture into the paint and sprayed on some Smooch spritz in red. When that layer was dry, I used a stencil and some white acrylic paint to add a little contrast and design. Next, we adhered the wooden letters to the canvas with Golden Heavy Gel Medium. The final finishing touch was to go over the edges with some Ranger Distress Ink in Vintage Photograph to give it some depth and a little contrast. We went to Hobby Lobby and Sophie picked out the cute ribbon to hang it with. It’s little strawberries in the shape of hearts. I think her teacher will like it ๐Ÿ™‚

I am offering a small RAK of Valentines goodies to a randomly chosen follower (US only please). So if you are not already a follower, you may subscribe by clicking on the “Subscribe” button on the right sidebar of my blog (above my bio and pic). Please comment and let me know if you are a new follower for a double chance to be entered to win. The special word you are looking for here is “and”. So make sure to jot that down before moving on to the next blog which is Beverly’s Blog. Thanks for stopping by!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carole
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 10:55:42

    I love that plaque you & your daughter made. I am also a new follower of yours.

    Reply

  2. Miriam Prantner
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 10:58:09

    What a pretty wall hanging!

    Reply

  3. DIANA L.
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 11:52:17

    I am really inspired to do something in vinyl now that I have seen this.
    TFS
    DIANA L.
    http://dianamlarson.blogpot.com

    Reply

  4. Barbara Greenberg
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:32:23

    I’m a new follower to your blog.
    What a great plaque.

    Reply

  5. Cathy (Kraftykoolkat)
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:46:36

    This is so adorable Melissa and I am sure you had great fun doing it with your daughter. I am a new follower but I can not go in for the prize as I live in the UK.

    Hugs
    Cathy
    xxxxx

    Reply

  6. snipsandsnails
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:59:33

    Adorable project! I’m sure your daughter’s teacher will love it. I’m already a follower.

    Reply

  7. sherri
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 13:32:50

    great canvas!

    Reply

  8. Erin Reed
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 14:53:26

    so cute!! i am a follower!

    Reply

  9. sandee
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 16:27:06

    Her teacher is going to adore it I am sure! waving hi from the hills of North Carolina ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  10. Janet
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 16:41:02

    I love that plaque you & your daughter made. I am also a new follower of yours

    Reply

  11. trisha too
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:04:00

    PRETTY canvas, perfect for this hop!

    New e-mail subber . . .

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  12. auntie em
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:20:08

    Very cute present for a very lucky teacher! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  13. photochic
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:34:36

    I *love* your project, Melissa! That font is awesomely cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  14. Kim Fordyce
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 19:51:32

    Love your canvas! How cool that you did the project with your daughter:)
    Thanks for the chance to win! Your follower button is not up right now.

    Reply

  15. Teresa Arsenault
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 20:51:07

    Your wall hanging is gorgeous.
    Blessings
    Teresa

    Reply

  16. Shaunery Wharton
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 23:14:43

    I’ve seen your work around the “internet”, (I follow many of the sites you play at!) so it’s only natural to now follow you and stalk you. LOL What a fun project for you and your daughter and you’ve inspired me to create something with my girls this weekend! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  17. Shelly
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 02:27:56

    Awe…. what a super cute gift idea!! I’m sure her teacher will love it!! New follower here… but I don’t see your follower button…. so I am following you by email and pinterest. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  18. Ange
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 03:33:16

    Just gorgeous! I’m sure she’ll love it xx

    Reply

  19. maida
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 04:49:25

    You di a great job with the plaque. Nice color blends.

    Loving Scrapper 101

    Reply

  20. Andrea Fogleman DT
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 05:47:13

    Fabulous home decor project. I love it.

    Reply

  21. Elisa
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 23:39:17

    Hi Melanie, what a lucky teacher! And Stephanie, has a bright future in Art design. I’m your new follower, right now blog hopping and havin fun.

    Reply

  22. Lisa Moen
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 07:28:05

    So talented! Love your canvas. I am now a new follower:)

    Reply

  23. Kelly Ryan
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 14:33:22

    I have followed your blog for awhile now and love it! thanks!

    Reply

  24. Geri
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 16:15:16

    new follower! Just found you thanks to Frosted Designs.
    Love your canvas project!

    Reply

  25. Kerys
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 16:17:35

    WOW! I’m LOVING this wall hanging! Being a teacher myself – I know your daughters teacher will love it! Something homemade is always SO special. Thank you so much for the inspiration. I’m a new follower too! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    Reply

  26. mandi
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 23:12:31

    Too cute. I am already a follower.

    Reply

  27. Me-Ma Kim
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 09:13:45

    That is SO CUTE!! I am a new email subscriber. Thanks for the chance for some goodies. Have a GREAT Day,
    Me-Ma Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

