Valentine’s Day Card Blog Hop

Hello everyone!! Well, February is here and with that…thoughts of Valentine’s Day! This month I am participating in the Valentine’s Day Card Blog Hop with some of the gals from Club CK. If you didn’t arrive here from Heather’s Blog , please go back to the start at Amanda’s Blog. For this hop, Amanda sent all of us a small pack of goodies to work with and create our own take on a Valentine’s Day card. We were also welcome to add a few bits of our own. For my card, I turned the paper into inchies, and put them together in a patchwork pattern. I covered one of the chipboard hearts in patterned paper, and painted 2 of the smaller chipboard pieces and stacked them, topping them off with a jewel. The red and pink polka dot pieces were actually packaging from some Christmas stickers my daughter had received from her secret Santa swap in December. Here is my card:

I am not really much of a card maker, but I enjoy challenging myself with one every so often.
And now for the fun stuff…I have a prize to give away. One lucky winner will receive this :

To win, become a follower (for a double entry) and leave a comment telling me one of your favorite Valentine’s gifts that you’ve received. If you’re already a follower, you may also comment and you will be entered in the drawing once. Winner will be announced on Monday, February 6. Thanks for looking a good luck! πŸ™‚
Your next stop is Jordan’s Blog πŸ™‚

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 23:11:11

    Beautiful job!!

    Reply

  2. Margie Van Evera
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 00:11:42

    I love your patchwork! You did a great job!

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 01:09:44

    Fabulous card!!! Love the black base!

    Reply

  4. Hattie
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 03:15:11

    Great card. Love the coordinating colors you selected.

    Reply

  5. Hattie
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 03:19:00

    Forgot to mention, I’m a new follower. My favorite Valentine’s gift that I received was a trip to go see a Cirque du Soleil performance. I LOVE Cirque!

    Reply

  6. Beth Hallgren
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 05:02:13

    Love it! The contrast on the dark background and the patchwork set it apart πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Stacia Lyn
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 06:44:43

    I think you did a great job!! What a pretty patchwork effect!! Oh…my favorite valentine’s gift was the flowers I got from Keith last year….We don’t really “do” Valentine’s day, but he said he felt like I need a little something to make my day better….It was so sweet of him πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Heather Millen
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 07:10:26

    I like the black heart with the love words & your patterned squares.

    Reply

  9. Ellen
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 08:01:41

    Love your card! Thanks for offering the amazing Smash book!

    Reply

  10. Kelly
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 08:48:29

    Wow! Your card is beautiful! Love love love the patchwork! I’m already a follower and you are so inspiring! My fav Valentine’s gift is the Journey t-shirt my hubby gave me when we were dating!

    Reply

  11. Casey B.
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 08:51:10

    Hi im a new follower. Love your card! It is beautiful! My husband and i dont usually do much for Valentines Day so we dont really give gifts. But we usually go to Steak n’ Shake every year. (one of our first dates.) So i guess that is kind of a gift to each other.

    Reply

  12. Cassie W
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 09:33:53

    What an adorable card! I am already a follower! My favorite gift is when my hubby sent me flowers while he was deployed to Iraq.

    Reply

  13. mandi
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 09:54:20

    Cute. We both did a mosaic on our cards. I am a follower. My favorite gift on Valentine’s was when I was little I got a Lamp Chop doll when I was sick. I still have it.

    Reply

  14. Laura Mooney
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 10:02:25

    You should be a card maker! It’s really cute and I love the patchwork design. We don’t really do Valentine’s gifts. My favorite Valentine would be the hubby himself πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Steffanie S
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 10:04:22

    Love the patchwork design on your card! You do not seem card-challenged at all! My favorite Valentine gifts are the home-made ones from my kids. By following, do you mean signing up for email subscription?

    Reply

  16. photochic
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 10:26:03

    Oh I loooove the patchwork! πŸ™‚ We don’t do much for Valentine’s day, so I guess my favorite gift would be candy from my mom and dad! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  17. photochic
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 10:28:14

    And I follow you through email subscription! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. creativelyloving
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 12:38:17

    Your card is awesome! I really like the squares, they really pop off the black background πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. creativelyloving
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 12:38:25

    I became an email follower πŸ™‚

    Reply

  20. Megan D
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 14:46:52

    I love the black background. What a neat idea! I’m also a follower. Very nice card!

    Reply

  21. snipsandsnails
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 16:20:24

    Beautiful card. I love the patchwork. I’m already a follower.

    Reply

  22. Connie
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 19:13:45

    Beautiful card!
    Also a terrific giveaway!
    I just became a follower.

    Reply

  23. Derv
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 22:06:26

    Love the black background. It shows the colors so well.

    Reply

  24. Becky
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 00:42:16

    Love the stacked chipboard and patchwork design. I am already a follower.

    Reply

  25. Shanon Gibson
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 11:24:41

    Holy Smokes! Such a clever way to use the bits to cover an entire card! Really, really lovely!

    Reply

  26. Ashley Horton
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 14:46:05

    This is so cute Melissa and I love the way you used the pieces from Amanda!! I love the grid design with the pp squares and the layering you did with the hearts! We don’t really do gifts for Valentine’s so I would have to say my favorite, is just getting to go out and eat at a restaurant!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  27. DanaMK
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 19:45:15

    I love the black background and the black heart with all the pinks and reds!!! And what a cute idea to do a quilt/patchwork look!

    Reply

  28. GrammaChurch (Gloria)
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 17:29:59

    So cute! Love how you created the patchwork design and it looks so homey and comfy just like a quilt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

