Fun Halloween Treat Boxes with Tags

Hello everyone! With Halloween around the corner, I wanted to share with you the cute little treat boxes I made for the kiddos in Sophie’s preschool class. These were really fun and easy to make. I tend to go a little overboard with these types of things, but I love having the opportunity to do something creative when giving gifts (even if they are just for a bunch of 3 year olds!)

Supplies for this project:

*2 packs of treat boxes (8/pack) for $3.99 each, but they were marked down to 40% off.
*1 roll of clear cellophane ($1.99)
*2 packs of large blank tags ($1.99 each)
*1 spool of purple curling ribbon ($1.79
*2 spools (1 orange, 1 green) wide glitter ribbon ($3.99 each, but marked down 40%)
*Sunset Orange alcohol ink
*Alcohol blending solution
*Concord Grape Smooch Spritz
*Black Soot Distress Ink
*Spider web design stamp
*Patterned Paper
*Scallop border punch
*Cricut “Happy Hauntings” cartridge
*white cardstock
*Small alpha stamps (I bought these for $1 at Michael’s and have been using the heck out of them–a great investment for a buck!)

To make the tags, I first covered them all in gesso and let them dry. Then, I used Sunset Orange alcohol ink with my ink applicator to cover the tag completely. The gesso underneath gave the tag a nice texture once the ink was applied. Next, I used Concord Grape Smooch spritz randomly over all of the tags. While the mist was still wet, I added a little bit of alcohol blending solution and moved the tags around to let some of the ink “bleed” down the tag. I lightly went over the tag with my heat gun, then dabbed all of the tags with a paper towel before letting them dry completely. The next step was to cut a 2″ strip of patterned paper to fit across the tag and ink around the edges in Black Soot Distress Ink. I used the scallop border punch on the bottom portion of each strip of paper, then adhered it to the tag. Using the Happy Hauntings cartridge from Cricut, I cut the word “Treats” out of white cardstock and glued that on top of the patterned paper. Then, I used the Black Soot Distress Ink to ink around the edges of the tag completely. The final step was to randomly stamp the spider web image and “from Sophie Johnson” onto each tag.

Here are some pics of the final product:


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Niemeier
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 09:32:22

    they are TOO CUTE!! 🙂 They might be for two year olds, but the MOMS will love them I am sure!! GREAT job!

    Reply

  2. Grammachurch
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 11:41:53

    I love the distressed look. The layering of ink and paper is wonderful and the smooch spray gives it a great spooky look. Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

