June Blog Hop–Sketch It To Me!!

Hi everyone and welcome to my blog! If you didn’t arrive from Laurie’s Blog, then please go back to Amanda’s Blog to start the blog hop.

Well…after how well the last hop went I couldn’t wait to participate in another one! Amanda came up with an awesome sketch, which we had to use for both a layout AND a card. Some of you know I am not much of a card maker, so that part was really challenging for me. Our challenge was to alter the sketch in some way to make it work for us.

So without further ado here is the sketch:



And here is my layout (photography by Beverly Adams Photography):



I altered the sketch to use one 5 x 7 photo instead of the 4×6 and 2×2 photos. I also left off the cluster from the right side of the sketch and I bumped up the journaling a bit. I used some pink tulle for the top cluster, to mimic the tulle in her dance tutu. (By the way, is that a CRAZY outfit or WHAT!!! 🙂 )

And here is my card:



This deviated quite a bit from the sketch. I struggle with cards and wanted to keep it simple, so I kept only one border strip at the bottom (and used ribbon in place of paper). Instead of a title I stamped the sentiment on some PP.

I hope you enjoyed my projects for this fun challenge. If you are not already a follower, I would love to have you as one! I will be offering up a random grab bag of goodies for one randomly selected new subscriber this weekend. To subscribe, simply click on the email subscription link right above my picture on the top right of the page. This way you will receive any new posts directly to your email–so easy!!!

Now, on to the next blog which happens to belong to a talented friend of mine–Dana!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda Johnson
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 23:36:39

    Love both the card and the layout!! The colors on the layout are super fun….and I love the floral background on your card.

    Reply

  2. Dana
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 07:52:22

    I love both your LO and card. I have to say, that is a wild dance outfit!!! But it provided great colour inspiration for your layout! 🙂 I love your card too – the simplicity of it is part of its beauty.

    Reply

  3. Beth Hallgren
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 07:56:36

    Oh Melissa I feel your pain with the dance costumes! I’m busy altering 2 off them for recital this weekend. Love your layout and the card is so soft & pretty 🙂

    Reply

  4. Vee
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:31:54

    Oh, Sunday is my DD’s LAST dance recital for she has graduated. I’ve gone thru DOZENS of crazy costumes. I wouldn’t change a thing!! I love the card!

    BTW, became a New Follower!!!

    Reply

  5. Danny Johnson
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:33:15

    These are beautiful. You really do have a talent for this.

    Reply

  6. Ashley Horton
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:47:18

    Awesome take on the sketch, Melissa! I love the black that you used for your background paper…it really makes all of the colors pop! The pleated teal ribbon is my favorite! And I love the Crate Paper on your card!! Very cute! (And how sweet for your hubby to leave a comment on your lo…good thing we have understanding hubby’s who don’t thing we are nut jobs for loving this hobby!!) 🙂

    Reply

  7. Laura Mooney
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:56:52

    Not a card maker, my foot! It is a beautiful card! I love your LO. What a fabulous tutu! I have been a follower, but have now subscribed 🙂

    Reply

  8. Angela A
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:35:08

    I really like the photo that you chose to do the layout on! What a fun page!

    Reply

  9. Kelly
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:54:14

    Gorgeous layout and card! I always love a black background to make the bright colors really stand out!

    Reply

  10. Cassie W
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 11:05:47

    Love your layout and your card. I am already a follower!

    Reply

  11. janice
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 11:26:40

    Absolutely gorgeous layout and card! I love the colours!
    janice

    Reply

  12. Gloria Martens
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 12:14:49

    This is such a fun blog hop. Thanks for providing a part of it.

    Reply

  13. snipsandsnails
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 12:40:41

    Love both the layout and the card! I just signed up to follow you.

    Reply

  14. auntie em
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 14:17:13

    Both your card and LO are so pretty and feminine! I love the colours and the little piece of tulle to match the colourful costume is a great touch.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Megan D
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 21:15:10

    What an awesome layout. I love the colors. And the PP at the bottom is gorgeous.

    Reply

  16. photochic
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 21:24:02

    Too cute! I love it all! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Steffanie S
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 22:18:46

    You say you are not good at cards but I LOVE your card! Simple and perfect!

    Reply

  18. Carolyn
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 22:39:20

    I Love this….saw it earlier on CK and it just jumped off the page!! The colors so very gorgeous and perfect for the sweet photo!!! Love it!

    Reply

  19. Andrea Niemeier
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 00:51:40

    love love how those colors pop!! Love your work!

    Reply

  20. Gloria
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 19:58:13

    What a fun layout – love the outfit! I like how you used the black with the bright colors. Your card is so cute!

    Reply

  21. Ladyofthelake
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 20:20:49

    Love the colors in your layout! Great layers!

    Reply

  22. Ladyofthelake
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 20:21:44

    And I’m a new subscriber 🙂

    Reply

  23. Tulipscrapper (Laurie)
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 22:54:22

    Melissa, I love your work! And your DD’s costume is priceless! I’ve been a follower and will continue to admire what you do!

    Reply

  24. K2S
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 23:40:55

    Gorgeous! Love all the colors on the LO! The colors really pop against the black background. Your card is great too. Like I told Adele (who doesn’t feel comfortable with cards either) you can’t hide talent! Awesome job Melissa!

    Reply

  25. Becky
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 01:04:46

    Love that page!! Such a cute picture!! that card is so pretty!!

    Reply

  26. Karen Letchworth
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 10:23:57

    What an awesome photo, and i LOVE the card you created!
    Karen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

