Welcome to the April “Blog Hop”!!

Hello! Welcome to my blog!! I am so glad that you stopped by πŸ™‚ As a special incentive, I am offering a prize for one lucky subscriber–a $20 Gift Certificate to http://www.acherryontop.com/. To win, please leave a comment, then click the button on the right to subscribe. Current subscribers are also eligible to win by just leaving a comment. The winner will be announced Sunday, April 10Β  at 9:00 PM Central Time, so please stop back by to see if YOU are the lucky winner! πŸ™‚

Several of the “gals” from Club CK got together to host this fun Spring-themed blog hop. If you didn’t arrive from Heather’s blog–, then please go back to the start at Amanda’s blog and go through the hop! So…spring is finally here, and with it for us in Texas lots of beautiful days and gorgeous wildflowers! This is my favorite time of year here, before the heat of summer sets in.

For my Spring themed project I did a small 5 x 7 piece of collage art. I felt like fairies were very appropriate for Spring. For this piece I used a 5 x 7 canvas mat board and lots of leftovers. I used Golden Gel Medium to adhere the different pieces of patterned paper, old book material and the doily. I “washed” the piece with a mixture of pink, white, and yellow acrylic paint. I also used a bit of Smooch spritz. I used Distress ink in Moss to add some depth, and added a few patches of Tim Holtz crackle paint for texture.Β  I fussy cut the fairy from Graphic 45 Once Upon a Springtime paper. I used a few other pieces from that line in the background also. To finish, I bought a cheap pink frame from Big Lots and dressed it up with some Prima flowers.

Well, I hope that you enjoyed your time here. Please feel free to browse through my older posts and see some of my other work. I appreciate you coming by and hope you will stop by again soon–next stop on the Blog Hop is Shanon’s Blog

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 05:53:11

    What a pretty project! I love all the soft spring colours and you’re right, the fairy is perfect for spring. πŸ™‚

    Mel, I can’t find where to become a follower. Could you tell me?

    Reply

  2. Amanda J
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 06:57:59

    I love that!! What a beautiful fairy!! I also love your LO in the post before πŸ™‚ I am a follower!

    Reply

  3. melshappyscrappyplace
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 07:05:32

    Up at the top right above my pic there is an email subscribe button πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Ashley Horton
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 08:28:52

    Hey Melissa, Thanks so much for the chance to win the ACOT gift certificate!! I already have something in mind for it, if I win! πŸ™‚ Your fairy project turned out great!!

    Reply

  5. Cassie W
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 08:29:08

    Love your framed art! So beautiful and perfect for spring. I am already a follower!

    Reply

  6. Candice
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 09:29:38

    WOW! Such a beautiful piece! I’ve been a follower for awhile now & love your work. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Reply

  7. Kathy D
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 09:43:39

    I have subscribed. LOVE your framed piece. Its so springy and girly!!

    Reply

  8. photochic
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 10:09:40

    I am now subscribed to your wonderful blog, Melissa! Love your little piece of art. It’s so elegant. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. auntie em (emily)
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 10:22:14

    Your framed fairy collage is gorgeous! Love the colour washes and the flowers on the corner of the frame.
    Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    I subscribed to your blog. Can’t wait to see what else you come up with! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Lisa
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 11:29:33

    Love the final product. Even though I loved it as you were creating it; was still amazed at how cute it was once it was put all together. Great job!

    Reply

  11. Carole B.
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 11:34:35

    Loved the picture you did.

    Reply

  12. Laura Mooney
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 11:48:10

    I just love that art! So very pretty! I love being a follower πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. dleebug
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 17:10:30

    Gorgeous! Love the soft pink. That’s a pink I don’t think I’d have an allergic reaction to.

    Reply

  14. Kathy-K2S
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 22:00:09

    Gorgeous! Love the delicate artistry!
    Count me as a new follower!
    Kathy-K2S

    Reply

  15. Becky
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 00:47:12

    Beautiful framed art! I love the fairy. I am now a follower.

    Reply

  16. Suzeyq
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 08:28:50

    I am a follower! I admire people with artistic ability! That fairy pic is gorgeous!

    Reply

  17. Becky
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 19:42:37

    That is beautiful!! Love the fairy!!

    Reply

  18. janice
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 17:44:29

    Sweet project…my niece would love that!
    janice

    Reply

  19. Andrea Joy
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 20:11:17

    I love your project — so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

