ARRR Matey! :)

A few weeks ago my sister-in-law approached me about making a collage piece for my nephew for his 4th birthday. He’s totally into pirates right now, so I thought “how about a pirate ship?” I really had a lot of fun with this piece–I’m always making girly stuff, so it was nice to do something for a little boy.

I started by painting the 12 x 12 canvas in different shades of blue with a little yellow mixed in for the sky. I wanted it to have a bright, sort of Caribbean feeling to it. I pieced together the pirate ship using an old map (which I inked over with vintage photo Distress ink–a favorite of mine in case you haven’t noticed 🙂 ), some old pieces of patterned paper, a few die cut pieces with a vintage theme, and stickers. I hand painted the little island using various shades of brown, and added the sandy palm tree . To create the water, I painted that area dark blue then covered it with Mod Podge. Before it could dry I pressed and crumpled dark blue tissue paper all over the bottom, creating texture and layers. When it was done I sealed it all with Liquitex gloss varnish. This helps seal in the color and prevent any fading, since it will likely be exposed to sunlight hanging up in his room. I was very excited with how it turned out. I plan to add a coordinating ribbon for hanging.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley Horton
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 19:19:07

    I am so glad you shared this today!! It is adorable! I really loved your canvas art project, with the G45. Today I bought a 12×12 canvas to use for a project in the girls room, to go along with Erika’s issue challenge this week. I am looking forward to doing a project that’s not a lo. You are inspiring me to step out of my little box!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gloria Martens
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 20:06:19

    That is such a neat piece of art, Melissa. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Andrea Joy
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 21:00:42

    Awesome Job Melissa! I am very impressed! I definitely could not do that. Your nephew will love it 🙂

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 22:17:29

    Very cool ! YOu are so talented !

    Reply

  5. Briana
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 22:34:02

    That is awesome! It looks like you could buy it at Pottery Barn Kids!

    Reply

  6. Candice Stultz
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 23:05:13

    WOW!! This piece is incredible! You’re very talented, I could totally picture this hanging in a store! I’m inspired to try playing with paint now=)

    Reply

  7. photochic
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 17:51:12

    SO SO cute! Love it to death!

    Reply

  8. Suzeyq
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 21:39:52

    Love how this turned out!

    Reply

  9. Tina
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 22:30:06

    I sooo love this! I love canvas pieces – I’ve done several and they are so fun to display!! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a comment