Recycle/Repurpose Challenge at Frosted Designs Today!

This week’s challenge at Frosted Designs is to recycle or re-purpose everyday household items. This was a tough challenge for me because I don’t do it too often. After spending some time thinking about it, I decided to do a mini album for my 12 year old daughter with pics of her and her friends.  I started looking around the house for items to use for this purpose. I just got a new laptop recently, so I used the cardboard from that (cut into 6 x 6 squares) as the base. All of the paper and ribbon used on this book were just scraps I had laying around. I wanted each page to have a unique background, but also wanted to keep the same color scheme throughout. I inked all of the edges of the book with Black Soot Distress Ink. Here is the book with some details about each page:

For the cover I used a tie dyed look since it’s so popular right now. I made the flower on the right corner by cutting 2 scraps of patterned paper into circles, spraying them with a little bit of water, then crumpling them up. I peeled up the edges and added the flower brad in the center.  I used a scrap of glittery green ribbon on the left, as well as ribbon scraps on the binding rings to dress it up.

Page 2 (on the left) is made from a used dryer sheet. It added a lot of texture the page. Once I finally got it to lay flat and dry, I went over it with Adirondack Inks in different coordinating colors. I also dabbed on little bits of yellow acrylic paint. I used the sparkly ribbon again at the top along with a die cut and sticker. For Page 3 (on the right) I used green and yellow acrylic paints, blending them where they come together in the middle. I added the sunflower die cut and a flower rub on with bling as well.

For page 4 (on left) I used the same background as the cover. I hand drew the swirl and just dotted some gold colored Stickles along my lines. I love the background for page 5 (on right). I covered the entire page in Mod Modge first, then took some tissue paper I had got from a St. Patty’s day gift and just crumbled and squished it all over the page. When it was set, I went over the whole thing again with a glossy finish to make it shine. I added the pleated ribbon, die cut, and ribbon to finish that page off.

There is that tie dyed background again on Page 6 🙂 . For page 7 I used the acrylic paints again, but added some texture to the page by using drywall tape as a mask when I put the yellow down.

Pages 8 has the tie dye again. Page 9 I used acrylic paints with a dabbing technique.

Thanks for stopping by!! Have a great weekend! 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 14:23:32

    Gorgeous ! I bet she loves it !!!

    Reply

  2. Laura Mooney
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 14:52:32

    It is really cool! Love all you did.

    Reply

  3. Ashley Horton
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 18:55:01

    This is a fantastic mini-album, Melissa!! I love all of the techniques you used. The dryer sheet and Mod Podge are awesome ideas! I would have never thought of that…might have to try those out. You did a GREAT job on your flower on the front cover!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Barb
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 15:17:35

    Melissa… your mini is amazing!! For not being a recycler kind of gal, you sure did a great job of using recycled items in your mini!! I am sure your daughter adores this!!
    barb 🙂

    Reply

  5. Angela
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 22:59:50

    Hi Mel! Love LOve LOVe this little book! a fabulous creative keepsake. so bright and colourful too! you have done a fab job with this challenge well done xxxx

    Reply

  6. Debbie B.
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 15:23:24

    Beautiful mini!!!! Just love the front cover, so colorful!!! Love the effect with the acrylic paints!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

