Canvas Art Project

I actually made this a few weeks ago, but am just now getting around to posting (oops!). I took a 12 x 12 canvas and painted the entire surface and sides with black acrylic paint. I used a sheet of Tim Holtz paper as the background, then I then fussy cut from Graphic 45’s Curtain Call paper to create the border. I fussy cut from some other sheets of the Curtain Call to create the rest of the overall design. I jazzed it up a little bit by adding some gold and red Stickles in various spots. I distressed some of the edges and worked them over with Vintage Photo distress ink. To add a touch of color, I used a red acrylic wash over the main part of the design. I wanted a little bit of the red to carry on throughout the piece. When it was completed, I sealed it with Liquitex gloss varnish.

I gave some thought to what I wanted this piece to “say”. I’ve been in a thought process lately about myself and how I’ve finally found some freedom to explore who I am a little bit more, especially through my art. This is what I ended up with:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 12:02:03

    You have done a beautiful job, this is a gorgeous piece. If you express yourself through you work you must be one stunning lady

    Amanda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

