Another Weekly Challenge!

This week Gloria at Club CK issued us a challenge: to scraplift someone’s work that you greatly admire. Well, I love Maggie Holmes’ style of scrapping. It’s really cute, clean, and fun. My project was inspired by her layout titled Love This Smile, seen in the March/April issue of CK magazine. We had just celebrated my adorable nephew’s first birthday and I couldn’t wait to create a page with some of the pics I took. He is such a little sweetie!

Some people feel funny about scraplifting, but it can be very educational. A lot of times if I decide that I want to “lift” someone’s design I find that my layout actually goes in a totally different direction. Lifting can be useful if you are unsure about photo placement, or have a certain paper that you aren’t sure how to use. It’s also great inspiration to see how others used certain products or color combinations. So next time you think that you are stumped on a layout, give it a try! **note: If you do scraplift someone’s design it’s always nice to give credit where it’s due, you would want the same courtesy shown to your original work! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Mason
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 19:52:00

    Great layout and great choice of a person to scraplift. I love maggie holmes’s stuff as well 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dana
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 01:54:05

    Great LO, Mel! Such a fun page!

    Reply

  3. Debbie B.
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 20:57:40

    Sweet layout!!! Cute pics!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

