Friday Challenge! 3.11

Good morning everyone! It’s Friday (yay!) and that means Challenge Day over at www.frosteddesigns.blogspot.com. This week’s challenge is a color challenge based on this inspiration photo below. Anyone can participate in these challenges, so head over and check it out. All you have to do is complete a layout with this color scheme and upload it. And the best part is you will be entered into a drawing for a free prize! Who doesn’t like free scrap goodies? 🙂

And here is my layout based on the color scheme of this photo:

This was a fun layout I created about the special relationship between my oldest and youngest daughters. I started with a base of plain 12 x 12 cardstock (DCWV), then cut down another sheet of 12 x 12 patterned paper (AC) for the large mat and rounded the corners. Then I used 2 coordinating strips of patterned paper (AC) of varying widths to create the vertical pieces. I used a thin strip of ribbon between the two vertical pieces. All of the edges of the paper were inked using the Concord Grape Distress Ink. I was finally able to use the really cool basketweave (lattice? hmm) style punch from EK to do the horizontal border on the bottom. Finally, I just added a few little  flowers (Prima and Sassafras) and the cute butterfly. I added some little action lines under the butterfly.

I hope you all have a great weekend!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 16:15:44

    This LO is so pretty!! I love everything about it!

    Reply

  2. Lydia
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 20:19:42

    Great job Amanda! Such a pretty layout! Looking foward to designing with you at Frosted Designs!
    Lydia

    Reply

  3. Diana
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 00:09:14

    Gorgeous!!!! I love the pps. You did a great job with the colors. Beautiful photos.

    Reply

  4. Debbie B.
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 20:36:17

    Beautiful layout and great pictures!!!!

    Reply

  5. Amanda
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 09:47:35

    Stunning….I love your work, I admire it alot

    Amanda

    Reply

  6. Ashley Horton
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 20:55:44

    Melissa, you did a great job on this lo! I was so excited to get to play along this week. Also wanted to let you know that I received the Stylish Blogger Award from a fellow blogger and I chose your blog to receive it also. Just go to my blog and follow the directions in this post: http://ashleyspaperdoll.blogspot.com/2011/03/stylish-blogger-award.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

