My Latest Project–the Treasure Box

Aside from scrapping, I also enjoy little side projects. This week I’ve been working on a special birthday gift for my oldest daughter. I think at some point every girl has had what I like to call a “treasure box”. You know, a place to store little bits and pieces of memories like ticket stubs, brochures, programs, random photos. So for her 19th birthday I created a box of her own. I used paper from Graphic 45’s Steampunk Debutante line, mixed with some Basic Grey. I also used my iRock to apply the gems along the top, acrylic paints, some ephemera, Tim Holtz Distress Inks, different trims and ribbons, a flower from a headband, and some “found” papers from an old French book I bought for .98 at a used book store. When it was all finished, I sealed it with a clear semi gloss varnish from Liquitex. Here is the final result:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 17:09:41

    that is such a beautiful trinket box!! I’m kinda wishing I was your daughter right now! lol amazing!

    Reply

  2. Ashley Horton
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 01:54:54

    This looks awesome Melissa! What a great gift for a birthday present. I loved keeping stuff like that when I was younger and I would have loved to have something like that to store it in. That G45 line is great and was perfect for this project!

    Reply

  3. Tina
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 04:58:48

    This is absolutely stunning! I LOVE IT!!! Anything retro, vintage, and Tim Holtz (of course). Amazing job!

    Reply

  4. Keri
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:39:12

    This is so very beautiful! What a sweet thing to have as a young girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

