December Daily 2012…and other news

Good morning everyone! I hope that you all had a very Merry Christmas and enjoyed your holidays 🙂 We had a great time the last few weeks, enjoying lots of family time together and relaxing. After Christmas, Sophie and Weston both got sick, then Ashley and her boyfriend. So I have been busy taking care of sick kiddos since then. On top of that, Weston is getting 6 teeth all at once so he’s been a bit on the crabby, clingy side. I am hoping everyone is well by the weekend and are able to go back to school on Monday. I really need to get back into our routine, and with all of the work that I have coming up I’m going to need every spare second.

With that in mind, and after doing a lot of thinking I have decided to step down from all of my design teams. It was a hard decision, but something I felt needed to be done. With Weston being so active, it’s really hard for me to sit and really focus and plan out and work on layouts. It takes me twice as long to create as it used to, and when you have a deadline to meet that can get kind of hairy! I also realized that I am more inspired when I can pick and choose which challenges I want to do. Plus I really want to focus more on my mixed media art this year (one of my 2013 goals). So…I will continue to create layouts, though it may be sporadically. I am also doing Project Life this year, which I am very excited about and will be sharing my pages of that here with you all as well. I am also doing LifeBook 2013, which you can learn about more on my art journaling blog. These two projects will be my main focus for the year and I am excited about them both. I think the PL will be a quick, easy way to maintain memory keeping without having to do big layouts (I ordered one of Becky Higgins’ pre-coordinated kits), and the LifeBook is two pages per month and is being taught by some really incredible artists!

This post is getting long, I’m realizing LOL….

Now that all of my “news” is out of the way, I wanted to share with you all my December Daily. I am feeling very proud of this, as this is the first year I’ve ever actually finished one!! Yay me 🙂 This project actually is what inspired me to do Project Life. I bought a Snap book and a Simple Stories kit to complete this project and it was just amazing to me how quickly I was able to put pages together and have them look cohesive. Right now I am loving anything that looks good and saves me time!!!

Click here to view all of the pages of my December Daily. I hope you enjoy and find some good inspiration there.

I wish you all a very happy, creative, and prosperous new year!!! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Tucker-Wolek
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 21:02:43

    So sorry to hear that everyone was sick! And good for you about stepping down… if it makes you more relaxed about creating and happier …than it’s all worth it!! And I loveeeeeeeeeeeee you DD!!! It is GORGEOUS!!!

    Reply

  2. Ashley Horton
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 22:21:21

    I hope you will get a lot out of PL, Melissa!! You are so crafty all around, and I love seeing the “extra” stuff you do, above and beyond layouts. And your DD looks awesome!!

    Reply

Leave a comment